Telephone

 




The Mikado

Gala

Patience

A Song to Sing, O!
 

The Mikado
Lesher Center for the Arts, Walnut Creek
Friday August 5, 8pm
Saturday August 6, 2pm & 8pm
Sunday August 7, 2pm

Mountain View Performing Arts Center, Mountain View
Saturday August 13, 2pm & 8pm
Sunday August 14, 2pm

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco
Thursday August, 18, 8pm
Friday August, 19, 8pm
Saturday August 20, 2pm & 8pm
Sunday August 21, 2pm

Bankhead Theater, Livermore
Saturday August 27, 8pm
Sunday August 28, 2pm


The comic satire of this brilliant work, ever relevant, is aimed at the timeless and universal frailties of our shared human nature, as told through Gilbert and Sullivan's hilarious plot line, ingenious dialogue, memorable characters, and gorgeous music. This new production will be moved from the traditional setting of a fictitious Japanese village to a re-imagined Renaissance Italy, the home of rapid cultural exchange, scientific advancement and artistic creativity, the tradition of commedia dell’arte, and the favored setting for many of Shakespeare’s greatest creations. The production will be changed visually to reflect our new setting, and a minimal number of necessary edits will be made to the names and dialogue, but this classic masterpiece will otherwise remain intact. We are excited about our new production of The Mikado and hope you will be too!

Lamplighters 2016 The MikadoLamplighters 2016 The Mikado
Subscriptions on sale now, Single tickets on sale in June

Our Annual Champagne Gala and Auction

An original satire set (mostly) to the music of Arthur Sullivan, every Lamplighters Gala is a unique event –– more fun-raiser than fundraiser –– with up-to-the-minute side-splittingly hilarious, award-winning parodies lampooning current events, crazes, fashions and fads. Our creative Gala writers are right now creating a new addition to this quintessential Lamplighter Art Form, to join the long series of previous Galas including Return of the Deadeye - The Farce Awakens, Upside-Downton Abbey, Rosencrantz & Guildenstern’s Excellent Adventure, Major General Hospital; and The Phantom of the Operetta.


Mountain View Performing Arts Center, Mountain View
Sunday November 6, 4pm

Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Sunday November 13, 4pm


Subscriptions on sale now, Single tickets on sale in June

Gilbert & Sullivan's Patience

Come revel in the comic stylings of that aesthete-to-end-all-aesthetes, Reginald Bunthorne, as he pursues the winsome and simple milkmaid Patience while simultaneously enjoying the worshipful adoration of his 20 love-sick groupies; the uproarious confusion of a hapless corps of jilted Dragoon Guard as they struggle to become aesthetic initiates in order to win back their old girlfriends; and the hilarity that ensues with the sudden unexpected appearance of the handsome aesthetic poet Archibald Grosvenor, who proves a rival for the affections of everyone else on stage!

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco
Friday February 3, 8pm
Saturday February 4, 2pm & 8pm
Sunday February 5, 2pm

Lesher Center for the Arts, Walnut Creek
Friday February 10, 8pm
Saturday February 11, 2pm
Sunday February 12, 2pm

Mountain View Performing Arts Center, Mountain View
Saturday February 18, 8pm
Sunday February 19, 2pm


Lamplighters Music Theatre, Patience 2010
Subscriptions on sale now, Single tickets on sale in June

A Song to Sing, O! The Gilbert & Sullivan Story

The fascinating story of the artistic collaboration of W.S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan as told in their own words through their letters and diaries, with musical highlights from all 13 of their comic operas. Conceived, written and directed by Artistic Director Emeritus, Barbara Heroux, this Lamplighters Original will feature a salon orchestra conducted by Baker Peeples, and a cast of familiar and well-loved Lamplighter performers. Longtime fans will learn something new, and it’s a great way to introduce new friends to the world of Gilbert & Sullivan.

Herbst Theatre, San Francisco
Saturday April 22, 8pm
Sunday April 23, 2pm

Napa Valley Opera House, Napa
Sunday April 30, 2 PM

Lesher Center for the Arts, Walnut Creek
Thursday May 4, 8pm

Menlo-Atherton Center for the Performing Arts
Sunday May 14, 3PM
Lamplighters Music Theatre, A Song to Sing, O! 2009
Subscriptions on sale now, Single tickets on sale in June